10/23/17 - Michigan Chemistry Council Celebrates 50th Anniversary and Elects Three New Members to Board of Directors

LANSING, MI, October 23, 2017 – At its annual conference on October 17th, the Michigan Chemistry Council (MCC) celebrated its 50th anniversary as an association. The MCC was established in 1967 by founding member companies, including Dow Chemical, Amway, BASF, and Upjohn.

The MCC marked the occasion at its conference with keynote addresses from Michigan Governor Rick Snyder and American Chemistry Council President & CEO Cal Dooley, and also recognized original founding member Bill Hartman.

The MCC’s membership also elected its annual board of directors, including three members who are joining the MCC board for the first time.

The new members include:

  • David Blatnik, State Government Affairs Manager, Marathon Petroleum, Detroit MI
  • Eric Friedman, Director of State Government Affairs, The Dow Chemical Company, Midland MI
  • Scott Bemis, Michigan Operations Responsible Care Leader, The Dow Chemical Company, Midland MI

Those members re-elected to the MCC board include:

  • Brooke Beebe, Vice President of External Affairs, Hemlock Semiconductor, Hemlock MI
  • Greg Pflum, Vice President and General Manager, BASF Corporation, Wyandotte MI
  • Mark Kramer – President & CEO, Anderson Development Company, Adrian MI
  • Dirk Bloemendaal, Managing Counsel Government Affairs, Amway, Ada MI
  • Jim Smith, Pipeline Business Manager, Praxair, River Rouge MI
  • Jos van den Brink, Site Leader, Trinseo, Midland MI
  • Brett Calvin, Chief Operations Officer, Haviland Enterprises, Grand Rapids MI
  • Charlie Denton - Partner, Barnes & Thornburg LLP, Grand Rapids MI
  • Jacquelyn Linck – Senior Chemical Engineer, Fishbeck Thompson Carr & Huber Inc., Grand Rapids MI
  • Lucy Pugh – Vice President, AECOM, Grand Rapids MI
  • Jeffrey Bolin - Sr. Vice President of Technical Operations, Dragun Corporation, Farmington Hills MI
  • Jon Lynch, President, Three Rivers Corporation, Midland MI

The MCC’s Board of Directors is elected on an annual basis by its member companies, with directors representing both MCC’s regular members and its associate members. The Board is currently led by President Greg Pflum, BASF Corporation.

The Michigan Chemistry Council, established in 1967, represents Michigan’s chemical manufacturers, formulators and distributors. Chemistry is Michigan’s fifth-largest manufacturing sector, supporting more than 80,000 Michigan jobs and directly impacting more than 96% of all manufactured goods.

John Dulmes
(517) 372-8898
[email protected]